Home

WARNING: Nerd moment ahead.

Seeing your work printed is the stuff of dreams!
IMG_5331

In December of 2014 my life took a welcome, though unexpected, turn.

It came by way of text message from my mother that she had been offered an opportunity to expand her publishing business and would like me to come on board as her “second-brain”. In a matter of weeks her business tripled in size and my life shifted gears from a full-time occupation nurturing young covenant children to a career in an industry I’ve dreamed of working in since I was first introduced to Microsoft Publisher way back in middle school.

Our three brands:

Screen Shot 2015-07-07 at 9.45.34 PM

Downtown Living– a private, neighborhood newsletter serving the residents of Blossomwood, Twickenham, and Old Town in downtown Huntsville. Published monthly.

Screen Shot 2015-07-07 at 9.49.49 PM

Inside Huntsville– a quarterly resource guide highlighting What to See & Do in Madison County and providing crucial information to area newcomers.

Screen Shot 2015-07-07 at 9.51.07 PM

Just For Women– a quarterly lifestyle magazine dedicated to connecting the women of Huntsville in print & online.

Officially, my role is Creative Director. Functionally, my role is Graphic Designer, Publishing Assistant, Neighborhood Ambassador (for Downtown Living), Brand Manager, and so so much more.

By coincidence, this venture has allowed me to work with a fellow SCAD grad and Huntsville native, Liz Bragg​, who has done our cover art for the past two issues of Inside Huntsville. Her mission-statement aligns perfectly with our community-oriented focus: “Through my work, I aim to brighten the day of my viewing audience.” It dresses up our publication and makes my job one-thousand-times easier to have professional illustrations grace our pages!

Every time we go to print I have this huge feeling of accomplishment, and it culminates in seeing the books escape from my computer screen as real-life 3-dimensional objects. Here’s the latest, the summer issue of Inside Huntsville hot off the press:

IMG_5328 IMG_5329 IMG_5330

One thought on “Avoiding burnout like it’s my job

  1. I’m so happy you have found a career that you love so much! It looks like you are having a great time and rocking it! You deserve every bit of the happiness it brings… you waited so patiently for the perfect fit and I’m very excited you found it!!

Leave a Reply

