Home

One thing I’m pretty adamant about is having finished edges in everything I sew.  Handmade doesn’t have to be equated with amateurish. Raw and ugly edges & bindings are very disturbing things to me! So in designing this swimsuit I’ve been getting creative and doing my research on ways to avoid elastic & visible zig-zag stitches.

The solution was simpler than I thought. I used my walking foot and a zig-zag stitch, stretching out the top layer only (the binding cut at 1 inch wide) in place of using elastic. The remainder of the binding is turned to the inside and stitched down ‘in the ditch’.

The waistband goes on tonight and then I’ll figure out the length of the skirt & start drafting a pattern for the top!

Leave a Reply

