Home

“Where do you get your design inspiration?”

I was asked this recently in an interview. The answer I gave referenced my talented friends, the places I’ve been, stories I’ve heard and want to creatively re-tell, but mostly I said that inspiration comes from within the designer herself.

If I’m being honest, I have to admit I’ve been indulging in feelings of being uninspired lately. Thinking that there is nothing to inspire me in this suburban lifestyle was defeating me. Thinking that the deprivation of artistic and visually stimulating people, fellow artists and designers, gives me license to not create was defeating me. Though in reality these are reasons why I am responsible for maintaining an artistic practice, to bring beauty into my drab surroundings, to people who don’t know what they are missing! This made me realize that I am equipped with the tools I need to design, the motivation and the inspiration necessary don’t come from external sources.

So this is my pledge to keep plucking along at this art stuff no matter what.

Leave a Reply

