Home

I had the opportunity to spend this week at the South Eastern Museum Conference in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.  My father was presenting/ exhibiting and I was lucky enough to tag along. We met a lot of great people, toured some remarkable buildings, and learned about Louisiana’s colorful political history.

When we visited the Louisiana State Museum we discussed the building with a woman who thought that the design choices of the architect (such as the enormous staircase and open entry hall, perfect for entertaining large groups) denied opportunity for further exhibition space. She was of the opinion that it was ‘wasted space’. This troubles me for one reason: as soon as we start to think of it as wasted space we forget that the architecture of the building is itself a work of art. To me the experience of being in the created space is just as important as the factual information provided in the museum.

I enjoyed my first trip to Louisiana, it was a great first visit and I hope it’s not the last.

Leave a Reply

