Home

It’s been nearly a year since I left for France. Leaving the country (and life as I knew it) behind for six months changed my perspective on everything. When I was away I longed for the good things about home and was able to forget all the things that made me want to leave in the first place. I came home excited to be home with a renewed enthusiasm for family, faith, community, and domestic art.

When I came home I noticed for the first time how unpleasant the accents are where I’m from. I saw how Americans are totally controlled by marketing. I see how content our culture is with being mediocre, letting other people do the heavy lifting.

France seems far away now, but I pray the lessons I learned there and the memories will stay with me and inform my decisions as I am inundated with the low expectations of our society.

Every once in a while SCAD will come out and surprise you by providing really great opportunities for students. I attended a lecture tonight given by Michael Alexin, Target’s VP of Design. It was encouraging to hear him speak on the qualities of innovative design, many of the things he said reiterated the lessons I learned through similar opportunities in France and from my professors.

In the Fibers field large corporations like Target tend to get painted in a bad light. My own personal qualms have to do with quality, durability, re-usability, production and source of materials. It frustrates me to purchase clothing that was manufactured out of the country and imported in. It frustrates me when my clothing is more of a world traveler than I am. Mr. Alexin seemed to be personally aware of very similar concerns and the Target corporation is making some very noticeable steps to reduce it’s waste and become more sustainable.

As much as I do like to shop at Target I never thought I would say these words: In all honesty, Target seems like a great place to work for.

It’s been nearly a year since I left for France. Leaving the country (and life as I knew it) behind for six months changed my perspective on everything. When I was away I longed for the good things about home and was able to forget all the things that made me want to leave in the first place. I came home excited to be home with a renewed enthusiasm for family, faith, community, and domestic art.

When I came home I noticed for the first time how horrible the accents are where I’m from. I saw how Americans are totally controlled by marketing. I see how content our culture is with being mediocre, letting other people do the heavy lifting.

France seems far away now, but I pray the lessons I learned there and the memories will stay with me and inform my decisions as I am inundated with the low expectations of our society.

Every once in a while SCAD will come out and surprise you by providing really great opportunities for students. I attended a lecture tonight given by Michael Alexin, Target’s VP of Design. It was encouraging to hear him speak on the qualities of innovative design, many of the things he said reiterated the lessons I learned through similar opportunities in France and from my professors.

In the Fibers field large corporations like Target tend to get painted in a bad light. My own personal qualms have to do with quality, durability, reusability, production and source of materials. It frustrates me to purchase clothing that was manufactured out of the country and imported in. It frustrates me when my clothing is more of a world traveler than I am. Mr. Alexin seemed to be personally aware of very similar concerns and the Target corporation is making some very noticeable steps to reduce it’s waste and become more sustainable.

As much as I do like to shop at Target I never thought I would say these words: In all honesty, Target seems like a great place to work for.

Leave a Reply

