Home

This past week has had the potential to be very discouraging. I’ve been getting bogged down with the opinions of people who haven’t learned to value the domestic arts. I have had to remind myself that the things I’m making are beautiful and meaningful. I have needed to remind myself of why I do what I do.

They have value.

They will be used.

They will be loved.

They will be forever present in a lifetime of memories.

My quilts will bring comfort to children.

With every stitch that I sew I can say that it has the potential to make a lasting difference in the lives of the people who experience it. For every hour I spend working, years will come out of it.

Kara made coffee and brownies this weekend

I ate Sunday dinner at Megan and Caitlin’s new apartment.

Olga made beautiful thumbprint cookies

and Caitlin baked a beautiful raspberry pie

Monday

This morning I serged the edges of my weavings so that I can quilt them later.

I put together 7 more coffee-cup sleeves. I'm hoping I can get a local coffee shop to sell them.

I finished cutting the 2.5 x 2.5 squares and laid them out so I could begin piecing them together.

Here are the squares, all stacked up in their rows, ready to be pieced.

It took me nearly 3 hours to piece all 25 rows together into long strips. In all I spent 9 hours in the studio today (yikes)!

Little moments like these (when I notice how very cute my little stack of fabric is) make the long hours worth my time and attention!

2 thoughts on “Reasons why I don’t care if you think I’m crazy

  1. You know that word I always use regarding you and your
    creations… 😉 Awesome… and I like the color of those squares.

Leave a Reply

