Home
  • (Galatians 2) 17“If, while we seek to be justified in Christ, it becomes evident that we ourselves are sinners, does that mean that Christ promotes sin? Absolutely not! 18If I rebuild what I destroyed, I prove that I am a lawbreaker. 19For through the law I died to the law so that I might live for God. 20I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. 21I do not set aside the grace of God, for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing!”
  • Listen to the language of cloth
  • Be aware of how you are gathering and synthesizing information. Exploit that.
  • Re-evaluate things you once took at face value.
  • Textile traditions are the backbone of society. It is our responsibility to inform those around us of this importance.
  • I want to see a resurgence of textile production on the small scale.
  • I want to see functional family dynamics built through the continuation of textile traditions that focus on the importance of the home. Families spending time on these things because they are a tactile way to show how we treasure our families.
  • Beauty is not the opposite, nor the enemy of function.
  • I’m not concerned with selling my aesthetic, rather ‘selling’ a beautiful way of life.
  • My work is lifestyle based. The appeal is in the ritual. The deeper meaning is in the communal value of functional objects.
  • Life is too short to frown. Laugh, lots
  • Spread joy, love
  • Give yourself permission to create, without fear
  • Recognize what is beautiful
  • Look to yourself to discover who you are, not at those you admire
  • Your work is your passport to your life
  • Textiles are carriers of our dreams, physically creating our futures
  • Our culture has low expectations of everything. Do better, even when it is counter-cultural.
  • Appeal to people at their base desires. Food, clothing, shelter, etc.
  • Be prepared to give generously of yourself. Time, thought, and care are needed to build good relationships.
  • Give credit where credit is due
  • Begin anywhere, just begin
  • Life is about the journey. Live beautifully
Leave a Reply

