Home

In short, if you are a young Christian artist, you should be working in the art forms of the twentieth century*, showing the marks of the culture out of which you have come, reflecting your own country and your own contemporariness and embodying something of the nature of the world as seen from a Christian standpoint.”

* This was written in 1973, but his argument remains valid in the twenty-first century!

“Therefore, while we must use twentieth-century styles, we must not use them in such a way as to be dominated by the world views out of which they have arisen”

“In one way styles are completely neutral. But in another way they must not be used in an unthinking, naive way.”


I’ve been thinking a lot lately about who I am as an artist and what I want my artwork to say to the world. I am at a shaping point were I have accumulated knowledge and I’m in the planning process of how I want to use that knowledge in the development of the portfolio that I will make next year. I understand that it is my life’s work that defines my world view and who I am as an artist, not one work or one body of work. The only question is which direction to take in the first big step towards adult life and away from the careful guidance of teachers and family.

On the subject of Christian artists creating work with non-religious subject matter:

“It is worth man’s while to create works upon the basis of the great works God has already created. This whole notion is rooted in the realization that Christianity is not involved with ‘salvation’ but with the total man in the total world.”

“Some Christian artists will never use religious themes. This is a freedom the artist has in Christ under the leadership of the Holy Spirit.”

“No work of art is more important than the Christian’s own life… The Christian’s life is to be a thing of truth and also a thing of beauty in the midst of a lost and despairing world.”

Leave a Reply

